Throughout the normal use of the Atheer platform, user accounts will come and go. Since that's the case, we need to make the best decision regarding deactivating and deleting user accounts. This article will discuss the differences between deactivating and deleting user accounts.
When should I deactivate a user account?
It is best practice to deactivate user accounts that have been assigned to, and used by, authentic users who use the platform for business purposes.
Deactivating a user account leaves the account details in the system, but the account is marked as unreadable, so it is no longer visible to any of the users. Since the account details remain in the system, the user account login and email address cannot be used by other new users in the system. Content and/or AiRForms that have been created by users who have been deactivated will remain unchanged and available for use. Jobs that have been completed by users that have been deactivated will still show the deactivated users' names under the Owner column.
When terminating employees or permanently removing their access to the system, the best practice is to deactivate them - not delete them. There may be a time in the future where you or someone from your company may need to document that certain users had access to the system and what they did while using it. Also, employees who are terminated may return to the company and need to have their accounts reactivated.
How do I activate and deactivate a user account?
User accounts are automatically activated when they are created and saved. The "Start Date" for a user account is for record keeping purposes and is not required. On or after the termination date of a user, the user's "Terminated On" record in Atheer should be updated. Once the "Terminated On" date is past, the user account will be flagged as deactivated.
When the calendar passes the "Terminated On" date setting, the user account will be flagged as deactivated.
How do I reactivate a user account?
User accounts are easily reactivated. Simply clear the "Terminated On" settings and update the account. Once you do that, the account will be active and ready to use again.
When should I delete a user account?
It is best practice to only delete user accounts that have been created for testing purposes or created incorrectly or improperly.
Deleting a user account removes the account from the system forever. It should only be done when you are sure that you no longer want to be able to access the account or no longer needed. Content and/or AiRForms that have been created by users who have been deleted will remain unchanged and available for use. Jobs that have been completed by users that have been deleted will still show the deactivated users' names under the Owner column.
How do I delete a user account?
User accounts can be deleted by clicking on the (overflow menu) button on the right side of the user account's row in the Users page and then selecting the Delete menu option.
Then, click the "Delete" button in the "Are you sure you want to delete this user?" popup to acknowledge that you want to delete the user.
How do I un-delete a user account?
As mentioned above, other than the remnant references to the original user account's name in completed Jobs, the user account is permanently deleted and cannot be recovered by an administrative function.
If you have any further questions, please feel free to reach out to our customer success team right here.